To my future self

I don’t actually know when you can be considered a future self. Is it after five years? Ten? Twenty? There isn’t really a defining line. A future self would be someone that is different from the current me, and who knows? I could be a different me tomorrow or next week or maybe even never. Maybe I’ll be the same as I am now fifty years later, holding the same values, having the same perspective on things, opinions never changing.

Just to set everything straight, I guess I should introduce myself in case it’s been so long since I’ve written this that you have no idea what point I am in my life right now. I am nineteen years old and still living with my parents. Right now I’m entering the first semester of my second year in university with no confirmed idea on what my concentration will be. Life isn’t too exciting as of right now, but that’s the average university student life for you.

I have a lot of questions to you. What do you do now? Where do you live? Who are you closest to? What are your future plans? Right now you are a big, vast black hole of uncertainties and opportunities. I don’t have the slightest idea what kind of shape you’ll take on or end up being.

I hope the me who reads this is proud of who she is as a person. I hope you are someone who works hard in everything she decides to do. I hope you are humble when faced with success and show perseverance and the courage to try again when faced with failure. I pray you are not alone in this world- that you have friends, family, and maybe someone special to support you in all your endeavors. You better be taking care of your health- I know your body has never been that strong. And you most definitely better be taking care of mom and dad’s health. I wonder if you won’t be afraid of taken advantage of and be kinder. If that’s the case then I’m glad. And above all else, I hope you are alive and happy to read this again.

I still don’t really know what my future holds at this point, my path is not straight nor clear in my mind. It gets a little intimidating and scary thinking about what kind of challenges and hurdles life will throw at me. All I can really do at this point is try a little bit of everything, explore around a little, trip sometimes, and get back up afterwards.

Hoping to meet you soon.

Sincerely,

Loewe

P.S. I am writing this while I should be doing some school work instead… you better be reading this because you have nothing else important to do!

I’m a person that has high highs and low lows. A lot of things make me sad. Sometimes its almost easier to be sad. But you do end up finding a balance and I think that as I get older I am learning what I can do for myself to make me happy. – Mary-Kate Olsen

One thought on “To my future self

To Loewe:

