To Hyesun

my best friend

It’s been awhile since your nineteenth birthday passed this year, and I am regretful to say that I am only writing this to you now.

We have known each other since sixth grade, which is almost eight or nine years ago. And little by little we have grown up and are still continuing to grow as people. I don’t think we’ve really realized how much things have changed since when we first met. And I don’t think we realize how much we have changed individually as well. But as I reminisce, I begin to see more and more the important of your existence in my life and how much I treasure our friendship.

As a child I believed that a person can have a lot of best friends… but now I disagree. You are, without a doubt, my best friend and I think that title only belongs to you. Over the years I’ve met a lot of great friends, but you are someone who is extra special in my heart. You are the first person I want to talk to when something amazing happens to me because I want to share my happiness with you. And you are also the first person I want to cry to if I am hurt. And the thing about you is that you are such a good friend to me. You listen to me ramble, you accommodate me and my selfish needs, and you always take good care of me. And you’ve been doing this for so many years now and you have never once complained to me about anything.

You are someone that I don’t see often anymore but for some reason I am not exactly very sad about that. I understand we are both busy with school and other things but we do try to make time for each other and I am glad for that. The best thing about us is that we don’t need to see each other everyday to confirm that we are still close friends. You don’t need to physically be here for me to not feel lonely. In fact, sometimes just knowing that you will be there for me is enough for me. The faith I have in our bond is something that doesn’t hold to anyone else.

You are someone who always puts others before yourself. You are a person who forgives easily and that is something I love about you because it’s a thing that I can’t do so effortlessly.

Thank you for entering my life and loving a lacking person like me. Thank you for supporting me through difficult times when I pushed other people away. I am so sorry that I am not as great of a friend as you have always been to me but I will try harder. You are the kindest person I have ever met and I wish for you to receive all the best and all the love there is to offer because you deserve it.

So a very happy belated nineteenth birthday to my dear friend, Hyesun.

Thank you for struggling with me through this long process of adulthood. There is no one else I would rather be growing up with more than you.

Most people, they’re just waiting to talk- but you listen.
– Russel Hammond, Almost Famous

Your best friend,

Loewe

To Loewe:

