Thoughts: Remembrance Day

remembrance day

I woke up this morning and I thought about November 11th.

And I thought about what today meant to people all over the world.
And I thought about the war I never had to live through.
And I thought about the battlefields I never had to see.
And I thought about the stories I never got to heard.

And I thought about me- a little girl lying in bed thinking about Remembrance Day.
And I remembered the times back in elementary school when a little me sat in a yellow-lighted gymnasium and listened to a bagpipe song, a poem, and an elderly person give a speech.
And I remembered the minute of silence the teachers made us do.
And I remembered how I didn’t understand why I had to do it.

And I thought about that innocence.
And I thought about how I had to wake up and catch up on my schoolwork today.
And I thought about how I had to clean my room.
And I thought about how I should do the laundry.
And I thought about me.

And I lied there on my bed.
And I closed my eyes for a few moments.

War does not determine who is right- only who is left. – Bertrand Russell

To Loewe:

