Thoughts: 12/12/12

121212

Happy 12.12.12. everybody!

I know a lot of people are making a big deal out of December 12, 2012 @ 12:12 all over Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or Tumblr. People were going around saying, “It’s the last repetitive date we’ll ever see in our lifetime!” and “Make a wish!” At first, I didn’t really think much of it. It’s not like we’ll never see 12/12/12 ever again. We’ll see it again if we either 1) change our date & time settings (which completely defeats the purpose) or 2) 100 years later.

I don’t know. That part kind of got to me.

Today I will confess that I spend this special date at home in sweatpants studying for my last final exam tomorrow. And years from now I probably won’t be able to distinguish the events of today with any other day in my lifetime. And I thought that was a little sad. It makes me think of quotes that say things like “live like today is your last”. All the stuff you hear about living in the moment… I wonder how many people actually follow that because I can honestly say I don’t- not on a day-to-day basis, at least.

Even though there isn’t really anything to celebrate about today, I feel thankful. I feel lucky to have the family that I have and the friends that I have. And I feel happy that we get to live through this day.

The people who say this date is overrated, you are probably right. But it doesn’t really matter whether or not people or hyping up this day more than it actually is. People like to celebrate things. People like to have an excuse to just be happy. So stop being grumpy and admit that seeing this date is actually pretty neat.

I wonder if I will live 100 years. If I do, I’ll be able to see this date again. That might be an interesting experience. I can confidently say that I won’t be studying on the day of December 12, 2112. That would just be really odd because I’d be like 119-years-old…

Congratulations to all the new couples as there is probably a huge influx of marriages and proposals. Hooray to the people who used today to reconnect with friends and family. Good job to the people who summed up their courage and did something out of their comfort zone today. And to all the other exam students out there… I offer you my shared grief and sympathy.

All we have is now, this moment. If you live in the future, you’ll miss things, right here, right now, and you’ll regret it later.

– Jessica Therrien, Oppression

Sincerely,

Loewe

P.S. I wonder how people reacted when it was the year 1212.

To Loewe:

