From the 2012 Me

Happy 2013 everybody! I suppose this will be my last post for this year. I pray for your good fortune and health for the new year. Thank you for reading and I hope you continue to!

In the year of 2013, I will be turning twenty years old. Even now I am still in a state of disbelief. I hear people talk about how going into your twenties is not really that big of a difference but it seems like a big deal to me right now. For me, it’s as if time has stopped after the year I turned sixteen. And it feels strange to think that I won’t be in my teens anymore.

When I first started writing this post, I had a lot of thoughts about what I regretted this year. I thought a lot about the mistakes I’ve made, the opportunities that I missed, the risks I chose not to take, and the pain I have inflicted on others. And I thought a lot about parts of myself that I am not satisfied with through my self reflection.

But that’s not really how I want to end 2012. This year wasn’t the best year of my life but it wasn’t that bad. In fact, if I had to choose between the word “good” or “bad”, I will have to say it was a good year. And I think often times we just focus too much on the negatives. It’s hard not to do that because the negative experiences are what really carves into our memory.

So as I am still the Loewe from 2012 I want to say that I am proud of myself for improving my health this year.  It has always been on the poor side because of several health factors. My family doctor seriously advised me to exercise more regularly (and a bunch of other things) to boost my weak immune system at the beginning of last year. So my New Years resolution for 2012 was to hit the gym (Ha, very original isn’t it?). And I think I’ve fulfilled it to some degree. I went consecutively one-two days a week throughout spring and summer semester, but stopped after midterm season of this year’s fall semester. I didn’t catch a fever the entire year (a first for me) and I don’t remember catching any significant cold or flu. I plan to head back to my gym schedule probably around end of January when it begins to get less crowded.

For 2013 I will aim to be someone who goes outside of her comfort zone and try things I have not done before.

Apparently, only 39% of people in their twenties achieve their resolution each year (StatisticBrain). Let’s hope I’m in that percentage this year.

So there you have it- my new years resolutions! What are yours for this year?

We have to learn to be our own best friends because we fall too easily into the trap of being our own worst enemies.

― Roderick Thorp

Sincerely,

Loewe

Face hand to screen for an internet high 5 to the end of 2012! Let's all continue to work hard!
Face hand to screen for an internet high 5 to the end of 2012! Let’s all continue to work hard!
3 thoughts on “From the 2012 Me

  1. I started going to the gym regularly when I was in college to deal with stress. I’ve been out of college for a couple years and I’m running more now than I ever have! Just aim for a routine, maybe two days a week, and make it part of who you are. Good luck and happy New Year!

    1. Thanks! I’ll try to keep up the exercising all year round this year (I have to pay for the gym fees as part of my tuition anyways). Happy new year to you too and I hope you take more great photos this year.

To Loewe:

