If Everyone Had a Father Like You

Father's Day 2013

Happy Father’s Day!

My younger sister is graduating from high school this year and it just so happens that her commencement falls on the same day as Father’s Day. I’m not 100% sure, but I think my commencement back in 2011 was also on the day of Father’s Day (I wonder if they plan it like that). Β So my family will be spending the day celebrating both my dad and my sister graduating from high school.

I wonder how he felt when he watched me walk across the stage in my cap and gown. I wonder how he’ll feel watching my sister do that.

I confess that I take my father for granted too often. He has never let me down. When I begin to leave, stop, and turn to look back he is still there watching from afar. And unfortunately, many times he receives the worst segments of my mood swings. A lot of times I am always too focused on myself and what is going on in my life to really pay attention to when my father returns home from work. Furthermore, I have one of those personalities that don’t blend too well with mushiness. It’s awkward saying “I love you” or giving a hug. But if he ever reads this, I hope he will understand my feelings.

If Everyone Had a Father Like You

If everyone had a father
Who was more like you,
There’d be more laughing, joy and singing;
Fewer people would be blue.

There’d be much more understanding;
Crime and hate could not prevail.We’d all be so contented,
We wouldn’t need a jail.

If everyone had a father
Who was more like you,
The whole world would be blessed,
Just as I am blessed with you.

By Karl Fuchs

Sincerely,

Loewe

To Loewe:

