Thoughts: 9 Things I’m Looking Forward to this Winter

480309_353885091352297_549745039_n(This scene is from the latest Tinkerbell movie – Secret of the Wings (2013))!

To be honest, winter and I do not get along that well. I’m fairly sensitive to the cold, hence why it is definitely not my favorite season. Nevertheless, there are some wonderful things about winter that I love.

Instead of going through this winter with a list of things I dislike, I’ve decided to go down the positive route and write a list of things I do like about winter. So here are 9 things I am looking forward to.

9. Christmas music

All the stores in the mall are probably playing Christmas soundtracks already… and I love it! Christmas songs are so jolly and warm. There is just something about them that make me feel nostalgic.

When I was in elementary school, my school would hold a big Christmas concert. Parents and friends would come watch each class perform a song with special appearances from the drama club and choir. Back then, I was active in both drama and choir so the Christmas concert was a big event for me. At the end of every Christmas concert, all the students and teachers would line up inside the auditorium to sing the final song- A Gift of Love. It’s not a very common Christmas song like Jingle Bells or Frosty the Snowman, but to this day it is still my favorite holiday tune. When I was first given to lyrics (to learn) in fourth or fifth grade, I was surprised to hear the actual song. It sounded like a song I had known all my life (maybe singing it every year since kindergarten just subconsciously engraved it into my head).

8. Christmas lights

My family has kind of given up on hanging Christmas lights on our house for the past few years, but I am glad other families have not! I remember when I first came to Canada, my family and I just spent one night driving around the neighborhood to look at all the pretty lights. I especially like it when trees are wrapped with lights as well. This year I really want to visit the Festival of Lights at the VanDusen Botanical Garden (I have never been!).

7. The end of finals

Yup, school is great and all but… freedom!

6. Leisure reading

Snowed in? It’s just too cold to go out? Perfect! Cuddle up at home with a good book.

The top of my reading list is Looking for Alaska by John Green, followed by Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli.

5. Yummy Goodies

It’s winter… I will eat what I want! Come to me glorious cakes, cookies, chocolates, and everything in between!

4. Sweaters! Hoodies! Scarves! All that is fluffy and warm!

It makes waking up in the morning a lot more bearable. My closet is packed with sweaters, hoodies, and scarves but I feel like it is never enough.

3. Giving out Christmas presents

I actually like to give presents a lot more than receiving them (don’t call me a liar yet, just hear me out). This is because I usually already have a good idea on what to get someone, and the thought of giving the present becomes exciting because I actually believe they will like it. On the other side of the situation, I’m fairly picky when it comes to things like clothes, jewelry, etc. I get nervous (what if I don’t like it? Do I have to pretend like I do? Yes, of course.) So giving presents is usually better in my opinion. If there are things I like, I probably got them for myself already.

This year I splurged a little on my Christmas gifts. I feel like more than any other year, this year has been a happy one with lots of good people. I do my Christmas shopping really early too so I already gave some presents out (because I couldn’t wait!)

2. Spending time with my friends and family

Going off from #3, winter is the best time to reconnect with people. Whether they are friends I saw just last week, or friends I haven’t seen for years, winter is a time to spend with others. Even more wonderful is that with Christmas around the corner, everyone is warmer and friendlier. Also… everyone has more free time on their hands.

Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful.
― Norman Vincent Peale

1. A new year

2013 has been a good year for me. Although there’s no guarantee that my future days will remain just as great, I am ready to embrace new friends, opportunities, and challenges. I am most definitely looking forward to celebrating the end of a fantastic year and the birth of a new year. I will make it just as lovely as this one.

What else are you looking forward to this winter?

Sincerely,

Loewe

One thought on “Thoughts: 9 Things I’m Looking Forward to this Winter

To Loewe:

