Happy Holidays to My Readers

I hope everyone was able to celebrate the holidays warmly with friends and family. I also hope everyone was able to survive boxing day/week madness without sustaining any long-term trauma. This is just a quick update from my end and how I’ve been spending my long awaited winter break so far.

I visited Bright Nights at Stanley Park. I had never gone before but I enjoyed looking at the light displays and took a picture with Santa.

I also attended my marketing club’s (SMA) ski trip – Up To Snow Good. I was up at Big White for 3 days and 2 nights. It was amazing! Clear skies and great conditions, with a lot of fresh snow. My friends and I were determined to master carving this year and I think we all managed to do just that. It took me many falls and bruises before I was able to grasp my own sense of balance while doing toes. There was one wipeout where I flew off like a flying squirrel and landed on my chest, my goggles and hat flying off my head. I really got the wind knocked out of me, I felt like I had just gotten out of a car accident. There was another incident where I saw a pile of powder but it turned out to be a ditch filled with powder. I fell straight in and needed someone to pull me out because it was like quick sand. My body was so sore, my neck wasn’t working properly for 3 days afterwards. But now I’m super pumped to finally invest in my own snowboard and gear because I really feel like I have gotten the hang of it! Snowboarding is a recreation I really want to see myself doing more of. Hopefully this winter I’ll be able to scout out a nice second-hand board.

I spent Christmas playing mah-jong for 9 hours with my family until 3 AM. Aside from that, I’ve been spending my days chilling with ATG watching movies, bowling, and so forth. I plan to spend the rest of my December just hanging out with friends and eating whatever I want.

The new, modern family Christmas card pose.

I think December is just that kind of a month where you can call up old friends, colleagues, or classmates and just meet up. It’s a time to reconnect with others and to celebrate the memories and joys you’ve shared together. Even though the holidays may not be the happiest time for everyone, I feel that it is a time where kindness is extended, loneliness is weakened, and warmth is radiated. But for these effects to happen, sometimes you have to reach out to others instead of waiting for them to come to you. Whether you spend the holidays feeling sad or excited, it will be the last days of 2013. Even if 2013 hasn’t been a good year for you, you can always help yourself by ending it on a good note!

Thank you for reading and I hope everybody is having as much and more fun as I am.

Sincerely,

Loewe

To Loewe:

