Vancouver Sun Run 2014

I signed up to participate in the Vancouver Sun Run around 2.5 months ago. I signed up earlier because it’s a little cheaper if you do, and then I prayed that on the day of it would not rain. Below is a rough timeline of phrases said and heard during the course of April 26-27th, 2014.

April 26, 2014

11 p.m.

“WHY IS IT RAINING? I don’t have anything waterproof except my ski jacket.”


“I’ll wear a hat.”

“What kind of hat are you thinking of?”

“My Chan hat.”


“You can take a short-cut.”

“That’s how people get lost!”

“But you’ll have an amazing time! Fame in the newspaper!”


“It’s pouring outside. If it’s like this, I might not go. How much did I pay for it again?”

“$30.”

“Hmm.. I’ll just get the shirt and pretend that I ran.”


April 27th, 2014

8 a.m.

“You forgot your bib tag?”


9 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

“IT’S SO COLD.”


“Is it our turn yet?” (x4)


“Did you read about the running etiquette?”


“Can you take a picture of me stretching?”


“Like 2 hours from now, we are going to feel so good and proud of ourselves.”


“Oh my god we’re at the front of the line!”

“We have to look good when we run after the countdown. There are photographers there waiting.”


“I’ve worked for the Sun Run for 6 years. I always like to work at the start point to see all the happy faces. No idea what people look like at the end, though.”


After the 1 k sign, there are 2 girls holding signs.

Sign 1: Good job! You’re almost done!

Sign 2: Worst parade ever!


“This bagel is so dry…”


“That baby looks like he’s having the time of his life.”


“That’s the finish line? Wait, I want to take a picture!”

Runs past someone who actually stopped in front of the finish line to take a picture.


“I am lining up for a banana.”

“I’m lost.”


I actually had a really great time during the Sun Run! It was fun with bands playing music and there were a lot of encouragements from strangers as people pass by. Even sitting on the skytrain on the way there was excitement with all the people chatting and wearing the T-shirts. To be honest, I thought I would struggle with 10 k because I don’t usually run such distances in my regular exercising routine. Also, the weather report was not looking too good the night before. Luckily, there was no rain and it turned out to be a beautiful day with sun.

Exercising and running is something that I never really considered as something “fun” until University. Basically, this meme offers a great representation of my epiphany:

I’m sure we all know that exercise is good for the body. One thing I’ve come to understand about running and endurance is that once you find your pace, you are golden. Your breathing and arms and legs movement just become synchronized and it feels easy. It feels like you’re flying. It feels great. For me, the most painful part is perhaps 5-10 minutes after you first start running or jogging. I think to myself, “Wow. I am not having a good time. Maybe I should stop and rest a little. I’m tired.”

I need to remind myself not to stop. Once I stop, it’s even harder to get back going again. If I don’t stop, I will find it- my golden pace.

I’m glad I signed up this year and I shouldn’t have worried so much about other things. It was great to see some of my friends participate in it this year as well and I hope more people will sign up for next year! Providing that it’s not raining hard on the day of, the Sun Run is a rewarding experience. It makes me wonder why I sleep in to noon on weekends when I could have done something better like run 10 k.

Exercise is a great leveler. It doesn’t matter how rich you are, you can’t just buy your way into a great body. You have to do the work.
― Vinnie Tortorich

sincerelyloewe

3 thoughts on “Vancouver Sun Run 2014

  1. I had so much fun taking free food haha. Took home 4 bottles of protein milk.. So Asian.. Are you planning on going again next year? I definitely am! We should train together :P Although I’m going to join the group that starts early cuz my legs got more tired waiting at the starting line than the actual 10k.. And so many people walking and blocking our way :s

To Loewe:

