Books: Love, Rosie

I stumbled upon Love, Rosie by Cecilia Ahern during my early high school years and it has been a memorable book for me ever since.

One aspect about this book that I adore is that the entire book is composed of letters, emails, invitations, and other forms of written statements. There is no narrative and the entire story-telling is accomplished through these proofs of exchanges between characters. It’s kind of like you are piecing together little bits of someone’s life and reading between the lines. Love, Rosie tells the sweet love story of 2 best friends, Rosie and Alex, from their childhood days to when they turn 50. It follows the 2 characters’ ups and downs in life as they separate and come back together while venturing through university, marriage, and parenthood.

I wake up in the morning and I feel like I’m missing something. I know that there’s something not right, and it takes me a while to remember what it is . . . then I remember. My best friend is gone. My only friend. It was silly of me to rely so much on one person.

 

The only downfall to this story is that it doesn’t feel real to me. In the beginning, it felt very real. The childhood innocence and the confusion of adolescence were brilliantly captured in spelling mistakes and sarcastic retorts. Then all of a sudden, Rosie has to deal with a teen pregnancy and Alex leaves Dublin to study abroad. The 2 best friends who are so clearly destined to be together are separated and this is where the love story comes in. As expected, Rosie and Alex’s timing is just not right. When one side breaks up, the other one gets married, and so forth. This type of pattern goes on for about… oh, I don’t know… 40 YEARS. I was almost on the verge of frustration as the 2 characters hit their fifties. Finally in the last chapters I got my desired happy ending, but all the work the book put me through to get to the final destination was almost exhausting.

I guess I should be happy that they actually got to be together in the end. Again, even though this was the ending I wanted, the whole point that it actually worked out made it feel less real to me. Maybe I am too pessimistic on things like soul mates.  I guess the fact that it took Rosie and Alex 50 years to figure it out was already an attempt to make their perfectly sculpted love story seem not so perfect.

Personally, I enjoyed reading about Rosie’s life. I thought it was interesting how life’s hurdles and missed opportunities bent and shaped her road. Unlike many of the other characters in the book, Rosie didn’t know what she wanted to do. While Alex, her daughter, and even her daughter’s best friend discovered their passions in medicine, music, and dentistry early on, Rosie struggled to identify her own ambitions and goals. Because the repetitive love-timing for Rosie and Alex was continually depressing and left me annoyed, it was great to read about her growing passion and success in hotel management. Aside from her drama with Alex, Rosie is surrounded by a cast of characters that offer her a lot of love. Whether it is Rosie’s co-worker who always sends her advice, Rosie’s old elementary school teacher who ends up becoming a lifelong mentor and friend, or Rosie’s parents, all of them support her in her endeavors. Of course, all of their discussions almost always end up back on the topic of Alex though.

Overall, it is an easy read. This is perhaps due to the format of the story (scribbled notes, cards, etc.). If you’re a big fan of romance novels, this may be an amazing book for you. If you’re more of a realist, this book may cause you to bash your head against the wall a few times.

I hear there’s a movie adaptation coming out this year. I wonder how the film will transform the story. I feel like it will be 3 hours long if it follows the book exactly.

To Rosie
You wrote that card didn’t you?
From Alex

To Alex
What card?
From Rosie

To Rosie
Very funny. I no it was you.
From Alex

To Alex
I really don’t know what you’re talking about. Why would I send you a Valentine’s card?
From Rosie

To Rosie
Ha ha! How did you no it was a Valentine’s Card! The only way you could no is if you sent it. You love me, you want to marry me.
From Alex

sincerelyloewe

One thought on “Books: Love, Rosie

To Loewe:

