To Tanya

tanya

The first four months of my co-op is over. This means summer is over and devastatingly (for me), it means my colleague, Tanya, will be leaving for exchange to France. This means no more lunches at Coal Harbor or happy hours after work with her. And while I am still very happy to continue my co-op, I am sad to know that she will not be continuing with me.

This is my first co-op and I had no prior experience in the public sector. Needless to say, I was quite overwhelmed with the unfamiliar processes and acronyms. I was also experiencing full-time work for the first time in my life, so I was learning to adjust to new surroundings and people. I believe Tanya has been wonderful as a colleague and as a friend to help me settle and enjoy work.

Tanya and I met through the NPSW committee and I note that as the first turning point in our friendship. From that point on, Tanya introduced me to her network of other co-op students. I am very thankful to have met Tanya during my term. She always answers my questions and coordinate SIS and other events for all the co-op students. On top of all the things she has done for me as a colleague, she has also done many things as my friend like bringing me to new places in Vancouver and making me laugh on tired mornings.

Although she is a noob at social media, Tanya is most definitely a smart girl and a hard worker. Those two things combined make her a person any company- public or private- would want to hire. Sometimes people have this image in their heads that government workers are slow and lazy, but she proves them very wrong. I have learned many things from her this term and I can’t wait until her return from France.

Below is her favorite quote:

 Aim for the moon. If you miss, you may hit a star.
– W. Clement Stone

Your colleague and friend,

Lost Loewe
Regional Director of Fun

To Loewe:

