Part XXIV: Connor and the Wedding

Today’s daily prompt: Under the Snow

You were caught in an avalanche. To be rescued, you need to make it through the night. What thought(s) would give you the strength to go through such a scary, dangerous situation?

I’d probably be reminding myself that I have to make it through the night. If I can make it, I will be rescued.

I would make a list of all the things I would do after I am rescued: people I should be kinder to, people I should spend more time with, activities that I always told myself I would do but still have not done. People emerge out of near-death experiences with a new outlook on life.

Or my mind may wander off to the other times I’ve been in a scary, dangerous situation. And I would remind myself that I can get through it.

“I’m not ok. But I will be.”

NaBloPoMo

My short story series, inspired by NaNoWriMo/NaBloPoMo and the daily prompt.

<< Part XXIII: Connor and Eric


“You may now kiss the bride.”

Connor held his breath, his pulse quickening and his hands breaking into a sweat. This was the moment he dreaded since the beginning of the ceremony.

He felt alright when he saw the wedding photos displayed in the lobby. When he actually saw Samantha, he was left more in awe than agony. His mouth was left gaping open when the grand doors swung open to reveal Samantha in her shimmering white sheath. Her tall and slender silhouette slid down the aisle gracefully. Stevie stood at her side, taking the place of her father, and when they reached Eric at the front of the room, Stevie’s eyes didn’t flare up like they did when he looked at Connor. He didn’t feel too bad to see that scene either.

He felt okay when they started saying their vows, but he couldn’t tear his eyes off of Samantha. He wondered what her face looked like under the veil.

Finally, Eric lifted her veil. Connor couldn’t see her face clearly. Eric cupped his hand under her chin and they kissed. Applause broke out.

Connor’s hands automatically joined in the applause. His palms collided together earnestly, his heart beating along with the rhythm. It was anti-climactic, really. Connor was expecting something to burst inside of him- anger, resentment, or jealousy, he wasn’t really sure but he was not expecting to feel what he was currently feeling. He was expecting his heart to sink to the pits of hell. Instead, all he felt was a piece of mind.

He breathed a sigh of relief. This was what he wanted. He wanted to be genuinely happy for the two of them because Connor knew.

He knew that he couldn’t be happy for other people if he wasn’t happy himself.

Samantha and Eric walked back down the aisle with people cheering and showering them with flower petals and good wishes. Connor wasn’t too sure why they had to look like they were running away since they would all see each other again at the reception party. He guessed that was just how weddings worked.

Through the downpour of flower petals, Connor and Stevie made eye contact after Samantha and Eric dashed past them. Connor worked up his courage and walked over to where he stood. “You were right, I loved her. Took me a long time to realize it.”

Stevie’s eyes looked at Connor and then moved back towards the open doors where Samantha and Eric disappeared to. Connor followed his gaze, feeling wistful at the sight of his best friend’s wedding.

“Tell your dad to stop giving me stuff.”

Connor stumbled with his words at the sudden topic change. “I uh… didn’t know he was still giving you stuff.”

Stevie’s eyebrows were tilted downwards apologetically.

“He never stopped. I guess it took me a long time to realize something too. Your dad… he’s tried to do a lot for us. He doesn’t need to do that anymore. Samantha and I, we’re both fine. Happy.”

Stevie’s green eyes looked at Connor without menace. Connor wished his Father was standing next to him, witnessing the scene before him. After all these years, forgiveness was finally granted.

Time, Connor realized, could heal all wounds.

“I’ll let him know.”

* * *

“Thanks for coming all the way.”

Samantha smiled, looking even lovelier than before in a simple pink dress and her hair tied back up in her usual ponytail. The reception party was bustling with classical music and the sounds of plates and forks. Samantha and Eric had been going around to each table, conversing with all the guests.

Connor handed her what he had been holding all day. He didn’t want to put his wedding gift with all the other ones. He wanted to hand it to her directly: a signed copy of The Boy with the Golden Feathers. “Congratulations.”

“This… you wrote this?”

Connor laughed heartily at Samantha’s shocked expression. For once, he surprised her. “Well, somehow it just happened. It wasn’t that hard to become an author, apparently.”

Samantha ignored his comment and held the book with both hands towards the ceiling like she was worshiping it. “Oh my gosh, Connor. The cover looks so beautiful.”

She ran her hand across the embossed title, her ring glistening purely. “The boy with the golden feathers…”

Her green eyes brushed above Connor’s brown ones to his golden hair, once again gelled back for the formal event.

She smiled a nostalgic smile. “It always looked better on normal days.”

Connor couldn’t help but smile back.

Like a social butterfly, Samantha fluttered away to the next table. Connor watched her ponytail swish back and forth as she left, thinking to himself that this was it. The ponytail swung like a pendulum clock, tick-tock tick-tock. This was the end of his childhood love.

“How are you feeling?”

Isabella propped her head in Connor’s elbow, her grey eyes peering up at him innocently. The two of them had only begun to date a few weeks ago, but Connor was glad he brought her to the wedding. The whole wedding was an anxious situation for Connor, but going with Isabella made it much more enjoyable and fun. Just the thought of having Isabella next to him reassured him that he would be fine.

“I’m doing much better than I thought I would be, actually.”

At his reply, Isabella grinned mischievously. “That’s good. By the way, I found the open bar.”

Connor grinned back.

A real launch always has an open bar.

Samantha,

Congratulations on your marriage. I mean it, truly.

Keep writing stories and I’ll keep reading them.

Wildflower
You have to look closely
To see that it is pretty
You have to look long
To see that it is lovable
You are the same.

Connor

Only 1 more part to go! Epilogue coming tomorrow!

eb66a206fcba478341eac3efd4d5ac5d Sincerely, Loewe

One thought on “Part XXIV: Connor and the Wedding

To Loewe:

