My Selfless Aunt

My aunt and I during our trip to Thailand in 2011. I was very disappointed at the portion sizes of french cuisine.
My aunt and I during our trip to Thailand in 2011. I was very disappointed in the portion size of french cuisine.

I found out recently that my aunt had a snowmobiling accident up in Finland.

Before I continue, I just want to say that it’s pretty cool that she:

  1. Went to Finland (saw the aurora with her own eyes!)
  2. Was on a snowmobile (let’s just say she’s well past a twenty-something)

My aunt went on this Finland trip with her co-workers, courtesy of her employer who wanted to thank them for their years of service. My aunt has lived in HK all her life, so I’m not even sure if she’s really been in a snowy country before.

I’m not too sure about the details, but she was not driving the snowmobile by herself. She busted her kneecap and from the Whatsapp conversation between her and my mother, I saw pictures of long ripping scars and stitches. She is currently going under physical rehab at a hospital in Finland (thank goodness one of the nurses can speak Cantonese). She will be able to walk again after several months of therapy, but it won’t become perfectly healed.

I am so worried for her.

Besides my love for my aunt simply because she is a family member, I have great admiration for her as a person.

She came from a poor family, worked hard and landed a job as a dentist. She never got married and does not have any children, but she has dedicated her life to care for my late grandmother, who became mentally ill in the later stages of her life. She paid for all her hospital and health fees and stayed with her until she passed away. My aunt also cares for my uncle, who now struggles with physical labor jobs because of his old age. She also takes care of my cousin, whose parents are divorced and neither of them really support her as well as they should. Of course, she also cares for me and my family, especially a few years back when we were struggling.

My aunt is generous and compassionate and very independent.

I just sit here and think: my aunt takes care of everyone, but who will take care of her?

Not I nor my mother can because we are all the way in Canada.

It breaks my heart. I want to just kidnap her and bring her to Vancouver where she can stay with us and I can help take care of her forever.

Don’t sacrifice yourself too much, because if you sacrifice too much there’s nothing else you can give and nobody will care for you.
― Karl Lagerfeld

eb66a206fcba478341eac3efd4d5ac5d Sincerely, Loewe

6 thoughts on “My Selfless Aunt

To Loewe:

