Music: Bastille, The Last Stand Tour 2014

On November 24, 2014, Bastille performed in Vancouver.

It was my first concert.

I never really had any singers or artists that I loved enough to actually pay money to watch them sing live. In fact, I usually assumed they would sound worst live.

I went in as a complete noob- no idea what I was supposed to do (Stand? Sit? Just listen? Dance?). I am also on the short side so it wasn’t like I had an amazing view, but I had a great time. Bastille sounded amazing live (I hear bands tend to perform better live- is that true?), and I loved their cover of “No Scrubs”.

I first learned of Bastille through a random playlist on 8tracks last year. I found their album, Bad Blood, online and loved it. When I heard they were coming to Vancouver, I decided to try something new and purchased tickets to see them. For those who are interested, take a listen at their album and my favorite lyrics!

Pompeii

But if you close your eyes,
Does it almost feel like
Nothing changed at all?
And if you close your eyes,
Does it almost feel like
You’ve been here before?

Things We Lost in the Fire

Tenderly they turned to dust all that I adore

Bad Blood

That these are the days that bind you together, forever
And these little things define you forever, forever

Overjoyed

Oh I feel overjoyed
When you listen to my words

These Streets

Oh, we have stained these walls
With our mistakes and flaws

Weight of Living (Part II)

All that you desired, when you were a child
Was to be old, was to be old
Now that you are here, suddenly you fear
You’ve lost control
Do you like the person you’ve become?

Icarus

Icarus is flying too close to the sun
And Icarus’s life, it has only just begun

Oblivion

Are you going to age with grace?
Are you going to age without mistakes?

When oblivion is calling out your name,
You always take it further than I ever can.

Flaws

All of your flaws and all of my flaws
Are laid out one by one
Look at the wonderful mess that we made
We pick ourselves undone

Daniel in the Den

And you thought the lions were bad
Well they tried to kill my brothers
And for every king that died
Oh they would crown another

Laura Palmer

This is your heart
Can you feel it? Can you feel it?

Get Home

We are the last people standing
At the end of the night
We are the greatest pretenders
In the cold morning light

Weight of Living (Part I) – Bonus

There’s an albatross around your neck,
All the things you’ve said,
And the things you’ve done,
Can you carry it with no regrets,
Can you stand the person you’ve become

The Silence – Bonus

Tell me a piece of your history
that you’re proud to call your own
Speak in words you picked up
as you walked through life alone.
We used to swim in your stories
and be pulled down by their tide,
choking on the words
and drowning with no air inside.

Laughter Lines

I’ll see you in the future when we’re older
and we are full of stories to be told.
Cross my heart and hope to die,
I’ll see you with your laughter lines.

This is just the first of many concerts to come! In February, I will be attending Sam Smith and then in August I’ll be going to Taylor Swift, courtesy of my sister, who won free tickets from the radio!

eb66a206fcba478341eac3efd4d5ac5d Sincerely, Loewe

To Loewe:

