From the 2014 Me

Also as a response to this week’s writing challenge: Ice, Water, Steam

2014 has been a great year for me. I dare to say it may even be the best one yet.

Why? Because I see evidence that I have become a better person. I participated in the Vancouver Sun Run and beat my time from last year’s Grouse Grind. I finished my one-year term in SMA as Director of PR, got onto the Dean’s honour roll and landed my first co-op. I read over 25 books on my reading list during the summer. I improved in snowboarding and am starting to self-learn Illustrator and design. I also completed NaBloPoMo and kept up with my blogging schedule.

I believe becoming a better person, in all areas, is an aspiration everyone should work towards.

A “better” person may sound too vague in terms of goal setting, but it’s more of a divide and conquer strategy. You can become a “better” person by being “-er”. Do you want to be “smarter”, “healthier”, or “kinder”? It is then up to you on things you can do to be “-er”. Read more books? Go to the gym more? Volunteer more?

Regardless of what you put down as your goal or New Year’s resolution, the desire to become “better” already indicates a positive change in yourself.

As the 2014 Loewe, I want to re-emphasize the importance of friends and family. This year I was gifted with the most rewarding work life. The downside was that my hectic schedule compromised my social life and possibly a little bit of my health. I am both thankful and sorry for all the lovely people in my life who were there for me even when I wasn’t there for them.

If there is anything I learned this year, it’s that I am surrounded and have always been surrounded by the most passionate, bright, and considerate people. These people support my dreams, let me know when I am wrong, and generously teach me. They plan things around my schedule to make sure I can come. They reach out to me and pull me along instead of leaving me behind. I really don’t think I can ask for anything more from my friends other than for them to give me their time, which I find is more precious as the years go by.

While I will always strive to be a “better” person, I will work especially hard in the upcoming year to be a better friend. I want to keep these people in my life, so I have to work harder to be as good to them as they are to me.

Wherever it is you may be, it is your friends who make your world.
– Chris Bradford, The Way of the Sword

Many thanks to all my readers and fellow bloggers for a great year. See you all in 2015!

eb66a206fcba478341eac3efd4d5ac5d Sincerely, Loewe

9 thoughts on “From the 2014 Me

To Loewe:

