Thoughts: Give Me A Spatula!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “If I Had a Hammer.”

If I had a hammer, I’d probably throw it away and pick up a spatula because baking would be the trade that I would actually not mind doing. The reason for this is simply because of my very large sweet tooth.

I love cake – cheesecake, tiramisu, red velvet, angel food cake, fruit cake, swiss rolls, sponge cake… everything! I love cookies, tarts, puddings, cream puffs, ice cream, pies, and all types of pastries (except muffins… maybe). My greatest horror in life is to suddenly become diabetic.

Although I am not in trades, I greatly respect people who are. There are many productive and useful jobs in the trades and often times it is well paid.

If I could choose to have any skill, I feel like I should probably pick something like electrical work, carpentry, or machine-related trades. However, I mostly feel that way because it seems like such a different world to the one I live in. It’s only because I know very little about it that it seems intriguing. If I were to actually work as an electrician, carpenter, or machine operator, I would probably hate it. Hair cutting also seems like an interesting trade to learn, but that interest is mostly fueled by my personal motive (i.e. my own hair). Since it is unlikely I will be able to cut my own hair, it doesn’t seem that valuable to me.

Baking, though, seems to be great fun- not just for myself but for everyone else who finds happiness in sweets. Dessert is a treat. It’s a pat on your own back, a thank-you to yourself for being awesome. In fact, marrying a pâtisserie could very well be the most awesome thing ever. That, or living next door to a bakery.

When I’m no longer rapping, I want to open up an ice cream parlor and call myself Scoop Dogg.
― Snoop Dogg

eb66a206fcba478341eac3efd4d5ac5d Sincerely, Loewe

P.S. All my dessert photos can be found on Instagram @sincerelyloewe.

5 thoughts on “Thoughts: Give Me A Spatula!

To Loewe:

