Movies: Tinker Bell and the Legend of the Neverbeast

I finally watched Tinkerbell and the Legend of the NeverBeast! It was out in December but I just had no time to watch it between finishing my co-op and going back to a full-time student. As usual, the animation in the movie was gorgeous. Disney never disappoints me with their great art and scenes.

I loved it just like how I love all of the Disney Fairies movies. In this spin-off, Fawn the animal fairy becomes the star. Fawn is known for her compassion and always ends up in trouble when she tries to help big dangerous animals. She meets a mysterious “beast” who she names “Gruff”. The scout fairies want to capture Gruff because they see him as a danger after they find an old legend that says the NeverBeast will bring thunderstorms to destroy Pixie Hollows. Fawn tries to protect Gruff while secretly doubting whether she is right about the goodness she sees in him.

They don’t see what I see.

Really Seeing Someone

Everyone is afraid of Gruff and believes the legend. Everything falls into place as the legend says (Gruff even grows bat wings and scary horns). Even Fawn ends up believing the legend when she helps the scout fairies capture him.

Aside from me being a sap seeing Gruff captured and hurt and sad, this movie speaks a lot about judgement. Granted, the scout fairies are playing the “bad” roles with pure intentions to protect Pixie Hollows, however, this movie sends a message to believe in others. People are not always who you think they are. In my opinion, they are probably better than you think- or at least, they can be.

I try to believe in better sides of people. I try to find the goodness in others because I want others to do the same for me. I believe that there is good and bad in everybody. There is even goodness in the person you hate the most. They do not give their goodness to you, but it doesn’t mean they don’t give it to others. I think this habit of mine resulted from my hobby of story writing. I hate 1D characters- the villains who are nothing but bad, the heroes who are nothing but good. It’s easy to think of flaws for a character – Oh, they are stubborn. Oh, they are arrogant. Oh, they are cowards – but they are still a good person because they’re the protagonist!

That’s dandy and swell, but my heart really goes out to the villain of the story who shows a glimmer of kindness. Because when you see that, when you see someone you believe is evil do something good, you wonder if they are as bad as you think.

When someone does something “bad” to me, I get angry and sad. Then I step outside of my character and wonder what motivated them to do that to me (back to English 10… “what is the character’s motivation?”). I make up reasons in my mind even if I have no idea if they are true or not. This person did that because they too had a bad experience before, because I did something “bad” to them, because someone they trusted told them to… because they had a reason, not just because they are a “bad” person.

One of the themes in The Legend of the NeverBeast is to see someone- to really, truly see them for who they are and not for whom others think they are. Fawn is able to see the goodness in Gruff even when nobody else can, and I think that is a very beautiful thing.

In a world where everybody believes your heart is black and you are darkness, a person who sees the light in you is irreplaceable. If everybody believed in the goodness of others, the world will be more compassionate because we will light it up.
eb66a206fcba478341eac3efd4d5ac5d Sincerely, Loewe

One thought on “Movies: Tinker Bell and the Legend of the Neverbeast

To Loewe:

