Working Class Discussions

I had a well-needed discussion last week with my friend on family, work, and money.

Some of my friends consider me to be a workaholic. This summer, I am working full time as a social media and marketing intern (co-op) on top of my part time jobs.

I like all my jobs, otherwise I would have quit them by now. I am lucky because all of them are directly linked to something I am interested in: social media, writing, photography, design, or education. None of them are labor intensive with flexible hours and great people.

I like to work, but I also realize that I give myself a lot of pressure because of my family’s financial situation. My friend and I shared this sentiment and discussed our desires to provide ourselves – and our families – with a better life.

My parents don’t push me to work. They don’t give me any pressure to help out financially, yet I find this pushes me to work even more. I stress about student loans, the mortgage, my sister’s acceptance into a masters program and its implications, and how my parents should be retired by now. Mostly, I get frustrated.

I get frustrated when I think about how my mother cleans toilets or how my sister is so carefree. I get frustrated at my friends when they choose not to work because they don’t have to, even though I think I’ll be the same if I was brought up with the same lifestyle. I get upset when I see my classmates go on exchange, knowing that I don’t have the resources to do the same.

I know everybody is different and we all have our own battles to deal with, but I can’t help but feel slightly annoyed when people show no ambitions or joke, “I’ll just marry rich”. I am severely doubtful when someone says they can’t juggle work and academics at the same time, even though for some people that is the case.

So, sometimes I wonder if my carefree friends understand me. I remember one year I didn’t go to a friend’s birthday dinner because I couldn’t afford to buy a present. I probably could have handled that better, but my friend was upset that I didn’t go and at the time, I was too embarrassed to truthfully explain why.

I think that’s why I was really happy when I had this discussion with my friend. I think I really needed someone who shared the same feelings and worries. Sometimes I am so deep in my own troubles that I forget to reach out to others about them. I worry about boring other people with my troubles because negativity spreads, but I thank my friend for listening and understanding.

What draws people to be friends is that they see the same truth. They share it.
– C.S. Lewis

logo Sincerely, Loewe

 

3 thoughts on “Working Class Discussions

  1. I agree.. a lot people I know are too carefree and just rely on other people to do things for them. For example, my cousin doesn’t feel a need to get a driver’s license because his mom will drive him everywhere. If I ask him what he’ll do when he needs a car in the future, he just shrugs it off and that makes me pretty irritated. I understand your feelings concerning your family too because mine is similar. My mom has to pay for the post-secondary education for 3 kids (she pays off the student loan but obviously I have to pay her back). I was supposed to go on exchange this July but seeing as I’m transferring schools, it wasn’t the best idea in regards to money. Kids nowadays are funded too much by their parents and it irks me knowing they are able to work but choose not to. I admire your drive, not everyone has that. Just know that those same people who lack that determination won’t see the same success that those who strive and work for it will.

    “Success is not an accident.”

    /// J.

    1. Thanks for your comment Justin.

      It’s a touchy subject to say carefree people lack determination, since I believe everybody works hard in their own ways. Again, we’re all born into different situations. I am definitely privileged compared to some and not others.

      I’m sad to hear about your exchange not working out, but hopefully you’ll be able to travel later on when things settle down.

  2. You’re Welcome!

    Oh I didn’t mean to generalize it but just wanted to emphasize the point of hard work. :S Sorry it came off harsh.

    Yea I feel disappointed about it but I know it was the right call. There are always cheaper and closer alternatives if I really wanted to travel. Haha I’ve barely stepped foot into our neighboring friend America.

To Loewe:

