Thoughts: School and Finding My Own Universe

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Fifteen Credits.”

If you’re in school, are you enjoying your classes? If you’re out of school, what do you miss about it — or are you glad those days are over?

This summer I am on co-op as a Social Media & Marketing Intern at… surprise – my own school, the Beedie School of Business at SFU! This position has given me a fun-filled term so far because I get to do all the marketing things I love (social media, graphic design, writing, and photography) and I get to connect with my own friends and faculty members. For example, last week I was up at the convocation ceremony to take photos and film the “Favorite Beedie Moments 2015” video. It was so wonderful to see my own friends graduate while working and to share and record that moment for them.

I have a lot of affection for Beedie. I can’t say it’s the “best business school” because I’ve never actually attended another business school to compare, but I have never regretted my decision to attend Beedie. Many of my peers are insanely driven and passionate about their aspirations. At the end of the day, it is the people that create a great school and an engaged community that acts as a catalyst for growth and learning for each member.

If someone asks me, “Who are you? What are your passions, your dreams? What are you good at? What do you want to do?”

I know what to say. Knowing what to say to questions like those is an outstanding achievement in its own right because there are hundreds of people who have no idea. My greatest fear coming out of high school was that I become lost in the “big” world, unable to find or create a place for myself. Being a Beedie student and taking the years to explore my interests and non-interests (things that are still useful but simply didn’t resonate with me) is what allowed me to craft a clear idea of who I am and who I want to be.

In high school, people would tell me that we have time to “find ourselves”. I thought that was a load of bull because “I already knew me… kind of!” Looking back now, I didn’t know myself at all. I thought I did, but not in the way I know myself now.

Often, it’s not about becoming a new person, but becoming the person you were meant to be, and already are, but don’t know how to be.
― Heath L. Buckmaster, Box of Hair: A Fairy Tale

I love marketing and how it reaches out to people. It is dynamic, always changing, and lets the creative juices flow. I love how social media can connect people to issues that matter and even better, to people that matter. I love learning about graphic design and branding and how to create what I visualize in my head with my own hands. I love how writing and storytelling catches one’s eye, heart, and soul. I love learning about photography and how to capture moments, sparks, memories, and happiness.

I find myself enjoying school more and more as I dig deeper into my concentration with classes that are more relevant to my interests. This fall I will be returning back to school. I am hoping to graduate in 2016, but I am open to another co-op term if a great opportunity arises. I find that my learning is always accentuated after a co-op term because I had the chance to apply things I’ve learned and going forward. It also makes the classroom education more lively because I’ll have a past situation or experience to support the golden question: Why do I need to know this? Why is this stuff important?

Overall, I enjoy Beedie and how it is transforming my personal growth. I will probably miss a lot of things about being a student, but the thing I am likely to miss the most is the people I go to school with. Marketing, writing, design and all that stuff I can do at work and for the rest of my life, but the time spent with my friends at school is limited. My fear now is that after I graduate, I will lose my ardor and eagerness under the burdens of “making a living” and other adult-world-evils.

logo Sincerely, Loewe

4 thoughts on “Thoughts: School and Finding My Own Universe

  1. Hi Loewe! Congratulations for your new occupation. I’m marketer too and passionate for this argument. Hope you grow your skills this summer and become a great professional in your work.

    Have a great life :-)

To Loewe:

