Thoughts: Give Me a Green Thumb

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Practice Makes Perfect?.”

Tell us about a talent you’d love to have… but don’t.

Talent is something I find a little unfair because it is something you are born with. Luckily, everybody is born with different talents (nobody is completely untalented, in my opinion). A talent means you are naturally better at something, and it is not to be confused with skill, which is something that can be improved over time and effort. A hardworking person may be able to catch up to a talented person, but if the talented person is hardworking as well, then it is a different story.

I think I speak for both my mother and I when I say I would love to be talented in gardening. Things just die with us.

We get excited when we see a successful baby tomato. Just the other week, my mom decided to cut off the drooping sunflower head in our backyard. It was such a sad event since it was perfectly straight and happy when we received it. My mother beheaded it like some 18th century execution and told me it would grow back (ha!).

My current living goals are to live in an apartment, so it’s not like I want to grow my own vegetables or have a massive flower garden. I just want the potted plants on my balcony to not die four days after I buy them.

So, I would consider gardening to be a talent. Some people have green thumbs and some just have… thumbs, I guess.

logoSincerely, Loewe

To Loewe:

