Perseid Meteor Shower 2015

I went up to Burnaby mountain on Thursday, August 13 at around 1:00 am to watch the Perseid meteor shower. I didn’t think I would end up going because I had work the next morning and I was already in pajamas, but I’m really glad that I did!

I ended up lying on the grass and just looking up at the sky – an activity I haven’t done since my high school days. We saw a couple of cool ones, leaving orange and white streaks in a black sky. The longer I stared at the stars, the more they started to look like they were moving and vibrating. Lying there, I felt so insignificant and the universe so vast.

It was the first time in a long time I just stopped wanting to look at my phone. Being a social media junkie, I use social media all day and all night. I joke about how I “live for the gram” and how I need to take photos of everything. It was futile to take photos of the meteor shower, and I haven’t learned how to properly shoot night sky scenes on my DSLR, so I just lay there. I am kind of thankful for that because it was refreshing and I felt re-connected to the world and myself.

Half of me misses life without the dominant use of cell phones and social media. I miss the sunrises I saw with my friends, where nobody (i.e. mostly me) is snapchatting and everybody is just quiet and sharing a moment. I miss eating or just lying around in a living room together, ignoring our text messages because the people that want to talk to us are already in the room.

The other half of me still loves the ability to talk and share with whomever and whenever. Growing up, I wasn’t allowed to hang out with my friends that often because I had so many extracurricular activities and my parents were strict. I was constantly online and it was my way of connecting with people.

I have to remind myself that I am not that 10 year-old girl anymore. I am not watching the kids on my street play together while I sit in front of an exercise book with a reading passage on telescopes. I am actually there looking up at the stars.

The glitter in the sky looks as if I could scoop it all up in my hands and let the stars swirl and touch one another but they are so distant so very far apart that they cannot feel the warmth of each other even though they are made of burning.

― Beth Revis, Across the Universe

logo Sincerely, Loewe

P.S. Went on a spontaneous star-chasing adventure this weekend to Lillooet! Will be writing about it sometime next week :)

2 thoughts on “Perseid Meteor Shower 2015

To Loewe:

