Power Outages with the Chan Sisters

BC Storm left many parts of Vancouver with power outages this weekend. Trees were falling down, traffic was terrible, and we became reminded of a time when there was no such thing as wifi (the horror!). It was like an apocalypse – sheer chaos outside.

My sister had the unfortunate commitment of her own birthday dinner on Saturday night, and she was freaking out about whether or not her venue had power and if her ice cream cake was still in solid form. My sister is now officially 20 years-old and you’d think the two of us would have matured a little by now, but instead we do this:

After we realize it's our swing set that fell down, not our neighbours.
After we realize it’s our swing set that fell down, not our neighbours.

I spent the morning curled up in my sister’s bed because the howling wind scared me. I don’t think the two of us have done something like that in years. When we realized our house had no power, we also realized that the only way we won’t die from boredom is to talk to each other.

My house had no internet so I went downstairs to talk to my family. They seem like nice people.

It is both funny and sad how we turn to each other when we no longer have the convenient entertainment from our mobile devices or computers. Growing up, I remember several instances where our house had no power, but we were never bothered by it. In fact, my sister and I thought it was loads of fun to run around the house in flashlights and eat grilled cheese off gas stoves. Even showering in the dark with a flashlight was fun.

The only time I was upset was the one year a drunk driver crashed into my street’s power box and we had no power for 3 days in early Winter. I remember sitting in a blanket burrito by the fireplace on the third day feeling cold and totally zoned out (“What is life?”).

This was all before I got hooked onto Neopets and Facebook and snapchat. Now I complain about how I need to check my email, charge my phone, connect to wifi, sit in traffic, or be bored because of a power outage.

The BC storm apocalypse reminded me of simpler times when I took on whatever life threw at me as an adventure, instead of an obstacle. It also made me realize once again how much fun I have with my sister and how she brightens my life up on even the stormiest days.

So happy birthday to one of my favourite people in the entire world, and may we never lose the inner child inside of us.

What am I going to be today? FABULOUS!

logo Sincerely, Loewe

4 thoughts on “Power Outages with the Chan Sisters

  1. Well, on the bright side, at least you weren’t keeping any prehistoric deadly dino’s in electrified cages, so they weren’t freed when the power failed. I hate it when that happens!

To Loewe:

