Music: Birdy, Fire Within

I’ve enjoyed listening to Birdy since her first appearance on The Ellen Degeneres Show back in 2012. Her second album, Fire Within, debuted in 2013, but I only recently took a listen this year.

Below are snippets to my favourite lyrics (* are my favourite songs).

01. Wings *

Oh lights go down
In the moment we’re lost and found
I just wanna be by your side
If these wings could fly

02. Heart of Gold *

You choose to lash out at me, I’ve done nothing wrong
All you crave is attention And just to be loved.
You need to be loved

03. Light Me Up

You light me up
When all I see is darkness
You light me up
When I’m down
And if I fall apart
You know where to find my pieces
When they can’t be found

04. Words as Weapons

If you use your words as a weapon
Then as a weapon, I’ll shed no tears

05. All You Never Say *

Life can be unkind
But only sometimes
You’re giving up before you start

06. Strange Birds

You’ve always loved the strange birds
Now I want to fly into your world

07. Maybe

Someday, we’ll meet on the high street
We’ll laugh about when we
Worried about what we might be

Then maybe, we’ll talk about old days
We’ll smile in our old ways
You’ll always be part of me

08. No Angel

I ain’t no angel
I never was
But I never hurt you
It’s not my fault

09. All About You *

You don’t have to do this on your own
Like there’s no one that cares about you
You don’t have to act like you’re alone
Like the walls are closing in around you

You don’t have to pretend no one knows
Like there’s no one that understands you
I’m not just some face you used to know
I know all about you

And you should know that someone cares about you
I know all about you

10. Standing in the Way of Light

Don’t you know you’re standing in the way of the light?
Pour oil on these flames
Speed up my heart again

11. Shine

Shine
If your heart tells you to then who are you to question it
Shine
If the world gets you down don’t be afraid to wrestle it
Shine
You have your whole life ahead of you
Come make a mess of it

logo Sincerely, Loewe

To Loewe:

