My 200th Post!

girl-icon_200

It’s been 2 years and 10 months since I started this WordPress blog.

Over the years, this site has changed to incorporate my portfolio, facilitating my self-learning design journey of monthly illustration projects and photography adventures. My blog, which started with only personal musings, now include book reviews (helping me keep up with my reading list) and even poetry.

But more importantly, I feel like I have changed because of this site.

If I include my high school years, I’ve been blogging for quite some time now, although it had always been a neatly swept secret. I liked to blog, but I didn’t want people to know I did it. I wanted people to read it, but I didn’t want anybody coming up to me in real life and say, “Hey! So I read your blog…” – cue internal screaming-

I’m not too sure why, but I think a part of me was embarrassed because blogging was personal and it felt as if I had placed a very intimate part of me onto the Internet. But I think what it really came down to was that I was very insecure and so even if I posted something that was meaningful to me and might be to others, I was never certain.

Somewhere along the way of my blogging journey, I found support. Other bloggers commenting on a shared experience, giving me advice, and even just following and reading my blog made me realize that I shouldn’t be embarrassed. So, I started to share my blog on Facebook to my friends and family, and lo behold, the nightmare scenario happens: people talk to me about my blog in real life.

Surprisingly, I didn’t get made fun of like I thought would happen. In fact, I received a lot of support from my friends to continue blogging. I’ve also encountered occurrences where strangers would contact me via social media to tell me that something I had written before resonated with them. And while this kind of stuff was never my motivation to begin blogging, it has certainly helped me gain confidence.

I am proud of this site. I am proud of what I write and what I share. And I am very happy and thankful for all the bloggers, friends, and readers for growing up with me here.

A look back at some of my most popular posts since my 100th post:

  1. Thoughts: Getting Inked
  2. Power Outages with the Chan Sisters
  3. Poetry: Rupi Kaur
  4. Books: All the Light We Cannot See
  5. Books: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
  6. Books: I’ll Give You the Sun
  7. Summer 2015 Highlight: Skydiving
  8. Phone Calls with my Grandma
  9. We Are Our Parents
  10. Thoughts: Dream Jobs

Writing is the only thing that when I do it, I don’t feel I should be doing something else.
― Gloria Steinem

logo Sincerely, Loewe

P.S. Also as a response to the Weekly Discover Challenge: Raison D’être

5 thoughts on “My 200th Post!

To Loewe:

