“IF we go? No, WHEN we go!”

This week’s fun moment spotlight goes to my breakfast date with my future travel partner at Yolks. We left my house early at 8:00 am and drove through a bright and sparkling frosty morning.

We ordered eggs benedict and truffle hash browns (delicious) and discussed our future backpacking trip to Europe this summer. The more we talked about it, the more excited I got (plus effects of caffeine).

I could finally feel it: this is really going to happen.

I’ve been saying I want to go traveling for my graduation trip for a while now, but I faced many hurdles such as saving up for it, getting permission to go, planning it, and finding someone to go with me. Now with someone equally excited to do this trip with me, I feel a lot less burdened by all the planning that is required.

This trip is something I really want to do. For the last five years, I’ve been in school or working full-time. All of that was great and fun in its own ways, but inside of me, a craving for adventure started to build up.

I want to wake up with a different view outside my window. I want to fall asleep on a train cutting through the fog and darkness of the night. I want to feel my backpack jostling behind me as I run for my next flight. I want to have a conversation with another traveler in a pub and find out they are also from Canada. I want to go into a dingy breakfast house (the kind that travelers and motorcycle gangs go to) and be surprised to find eggs benny that taste even better than the ones I had this week.

I’m not going soul-searching to “find myself”, although I’m sure I will learn more about me throughout this trip. I dare to say I would like to escape from my everyday life routines and embark on something different and new.

All around me are ideas like going through recruit, finding a job, saving up for retirement (a little depressing), moving out- even getting married! I think to myself: instead of all this, how nice would it be to just enjoy being a twenty-something? Just for a little while, at least.

Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colors. And the people there see you differently, too. Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving.
– Terry Pratchett, A Hat Full of Sky

logo Sincerely, Loewe

One thought on ““IF we go? No, WHEN we go!”

To Loewe:

