“How is this a reunion, again?”

OP fanart by arnistotle.

Sometimes I feel like my life is a movie I’ve already watched. There are moments when I think to myself: I knew this was going to happen.

For example, there was a boy from my grade in middle school who was not in my class, but in the class across the hall from mine. We didn’t know each other and never really talked to each other. I had no idea what kind of a person he was, but for some reason, I remember thinking to myself: I feel like we’re going to become really good friends later on in life. Now, he is one of my closest and oldest friends.

Last week before the new year, I had another one of these moments.

I was attending a small high school reunion dinner. I was excited to see some of my old classmates, even if we lost reasons to contact each other regularly over the years. The dinner was set up into three long tables and what happened was that my usual group of friends and I ended up sitting together at one of the tables.

My high school friends and I are very close. We see each other almost every 2-3 days, plus birthdays, special holidays, and road trips. Sometimes I feel like I see them more than I see my own sister.

So essentially, us sitting at the same table together during this high school reunion was no different from our usual dinners together. As the people around us chatted about finishing up school, new jobs, their latest accomplishments, and everything else that was big and happening in their lives, my friends and I talked about the movie we watched together the day before (Star Wars: The Force Awakens).

And that was when I remembered a moment in middle school: me on the computer, seeing a quote on the Internet that said:

At my high school reunion, I want my friends and I to be laughing about something that happened yesterday.

And I remembered thinking: How nice that would be.

And there I was, actually living the moment, and it was truly very nice.

Sincerely, Loewe

 

To Loewe:

