“Believe in the rice.”

iPhone 6 - My 22nd birthday present from ATG
From my August 2015 design project: Cell Phone History.

This week I dropped my phone into the sink (because I’m an idiot). I pray for the powers of rice to bring my phone back to life, but when I placed it into a bag of rice, I felt like I was burying my dead dog.

I am currently using my old iphone 4S until I figure out my next course of action. Using my old phone again made me think about many things.

First of all, the screen is so small. Before switching to an iphone 6, I remember being perfectly content with my 4S (except for the camera quality). I even dared to say that the new phones coming out were too large. Now here I am, preferring a larger screen and wondering how I looked at such a small screen before the switch.

It made me think about how different it feels when something “better” gets taken away. If I had never upgraded, I would’ve continued to be content. Similarly, a person who never tries anything new or never lets someone new come into their life – would they also be simply content? Conversely, a person who loses something – a significant other or a a fulfilling lifestyle component – is it impossible to return to that kind of contentment because now they know how life can be otherwise?

Secondly, the stuff I never backed up were still there. I scrolled back to find little everyday moments of my life that I had previously deemed not important enough to be stored onto my new phone – blurry photos, silly videos of me and friends singing in the car, old text messages, and more.

It made me think about how easily I had discarded these memories. In the grand scope of things, these moments are not milestones or any of that sort, which may be the reason why I had forgotten about some of things I found. Yet, these moments are mine nonetheless and I wonder how many other things about my own life I have forgotten or simply “deleted” in order to have “storage” for newer things.

Thirdly, I was surprised that I wasn’t in tears. I was upset about how expensive the phone is, the functions that are lost (camera), but not about what is inside. I don’t feel much remorse for possibly losing all my photos or messages and this is partly because all of my data is no longer stored on one device. Very rarely do I ever do any work on one single file; it is always connected to my Google drive or my Chrome account or on iCloud or somewhere that I can find again.

It made me think about how perhaps the “things” in my life are losing personal value. A teddy bear I can’t sleep at night without? I’ve outgrown it. My favourite sweater? Only because it’s still comfy. Increasingly, there are less and less “things” that I still have emotional attachments with. And even with those, if it no longer does what it’s supposed to do, I rarely hesitate to throw it out. Is that being efficient? Being heartless?

Being grown up?

Sincerely, Loewe

To Loewe:

