Farewell University!

DSC_1096_sig

After five years, I am officially a university graduate! On Tuesday, June 7th, I walked the stage during my convocation ceremony, graduating with a Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) from the Beedie School of Business at Simon Fraser University (SFU).

To all my friends, classmates/professors, colleagues, and mentors who have been a part of my university journey, I thank you for all the little and big things you’ve done for me. Through a whirlwind of school organizations (SMA/Uphoto/SFU Yours), co-op (AANDC, Beedie), projects, exams, and events, I graduate with a clear idea of who I am, who I want to be, what I want to do, and where I want to be.

This comic accurately depicts how I feel when I think back on my university experience. In high school, I watched with envy as my friends passionately told me their dreams of becoming a nurse, doctor, teacher, Broadway musical extraordinaire, and so on. I was worried that I would never find anything for me – how much life would suck if every day was a monotonous cycle of mediocrity.

If I have any advice to give to incoming or current university students, it is to simply do what you want in the context of finding your passion.

You think that club is interesting? Join it. You kind of want to go to that event, but you don’t know anybody else going? Just go. You took a random elective and you actually enjoyed what you learned? Take some more of those courses. You want to apply for a position but you don’t think you’ll make the cut for interviews? Apply anyways. You don’t want to study what you’re learning anymore? Try a different direction. Just slowly but surely head towards the direction you (think) you want to go, and one day you will realize that you are in a better place than before.

As of right now, I am in a great place. In addition to finding my passion in marketing and graduating, I am excited for #FLEuro2016, my upcoming backpacking trip to Europe this summer. I haven’t traveled outside of Canada since I started university, so I am really looking forward to break out of my school-work-repeat cycle.

On top of all this great news, I am even more excited to say that I will be working full-time at a marketing startup in Vancouver doing PR and business development work when I return from #FLEuro2016! Originally, I had planned to job-hunt after Europe since it’s awkward to be like “Hey, hire me!” and then be like “Oh by the way, I’m gone for like a month. Is that cool?” Luckily, everything seems to be working out so all in all, I couldn’t be happier.

Congratulations to all my fellow graduates this year and may we all move onto bigger and better things in life. Let us never forget how our parents smiled at us when we waved to them from our spot on the stage.

The saddest people I’ve ever met in life are the ones who don’t care deeply about anything at all. Passion and satisfaction go hand in hand, and without them, any happiness is only temporary, because there’s nothing to make it last.
― Nicholas Sparks, Dear John

Sincerely, Loewe

8 thoughts on “Farewell University!

  1. Congratulations on graduating, Loewe. It’s been 5 years since I graduated from UBC and sometimes it feels like it was just yesterday. Enjoy adulthood responsibly.

To Loewe:

