Dream Diagnosis: Escalator, Waterslide, Hole, and Goldfish

Illustration by Keng Lye.

I am someone who remembers my dreams. Some of them are so funny to me that I write them down in a notebook that has slowly become titled “Dream Logs”.

I shared two of my recent dreams with my friend, Tracy, who proceeded to diagnose them with the help of Dream Moods. Many of my dreams do not make sense and is conjured of random events, but when we looked up symbols, they seem to piece together a coherent message, which I find immensely interesting.

For a detailed example, take a look at one of my most recent dream log entries and the analysis Tracy came up with:

Dream Log 03 No.2:

Tracy and I are at a water park, but we want to leave because the place and the workers are beginning to creep us out. We have to choose between two escalators that lead to different rides. We choose the left one.

As we are going down the escalator, we see the end – it is dark and blue (underwater shadows). Tracy gets scared and wants to go back up the escalator. I tell her that we can after we reach the bottom because it’s stupid to run up a descending escalator. At the bottom, one of the ride operators, a very skinny Jamaican man tries to get us to go on the ride by showing me a brochure about how relaxing it is. The brochure features clown fish and doesn’t look scary. Also, there are already three other girls waiting to go down the ride, so I persuade Tracy to go on this ride. I make a deal with the ride operator that after we go on this ride, we are free to leave.

As we prepare to go down this water slide, we are asked to put on a red or pink blouse. I watch as a girl in front of us disappears into the water slide tunnel in her tube. The moving water moves like a river and the tunnel lights up as she enters the tunnel.

It is now our turn. Because we are going together, we sit in a canoe float instead of a tube. We go down the tunnel and tropical music plays – it is not a scary ride. The tunnel opens up to a large funnel, where you are supposed to fall into this hole. Some girls are clinging to the sides of the funnel because they do not want to fall into the hole. Tracy and I don’t try to stop our canoe and circle around the funnel until we are about to fall into the hole. For a second, I think we’ll tip out of our canoe and into the hole, but our canoe falls in perfectly and we land in a new pool while still sitting in our canoe.

I look around for clown fish, but all I see are giant goldfishes. One of them swims up to my hand and sucks on my palm. When I lift up my hand, it follows my hand out of the water. It is so big that I get excited and ask Tracy to take a picture of me for my Instagram.

Analysis:

  1. Escalator: To see an escalator in your dream indicates movement between various levels of consciousness. If you are going down the escalator, then it implies repression and descent back into your subconscious. To dream that you or someone is going up the downside of the escalator implies that you are not confronting your emotions in an effective manner.
  2. Waterslide: To dream that you are on or see a waterslide suggests that you are being carried away by your emotions. Alternatively, the dream indicates that you are going with the flow of things without any objection or resistance.
  3. Blouse: To wear or buy a blouse in your dream indicates that you are trying to express your emotions. Consider the color of the blouse for added significance. Also pay attention to the fit and style of the blouse for additional clues into your emotional state.
  4. Canoe: To see a canoe in your dream represents serenity, simplicity, and independence. It is also a reflection of your emotional balance. You are moving ahead via your own power and determination.
  5. Hole: To dream that you fall into a hole represents a pitfall in some waking situation. You feel you are stuck. Perhaps, you have dug yourself into a hole and cannot get out of it.
  6. Goldfish: To see a goldfish in your dream signifies, wealth, success, and pleasant adventures. Alternatively, goldfish represents some important emotional matter or valuable insight.

Conclusion: 

This dream is about letting go and heading into the unknown and realizing it’s not bad. By rejecting the idea to run up a descending escalator, the dreamer is choosing to directly confront his or her emotions. The escalator leads to a waterslide, which represents the dreamer trying to repress his or her emotions only to end up being carried away by them in the end. Instead of repressing emotions, the dreamer is now going with the flow as the dreamer enters the waterslide wearing a blouse, which symbolizes another attempt to be more expressive.

The canoe creates a peaceful ride as the dreamer continues on the waterslide, meaning that the dreamer is now more emotionally stable and independent as a result of accepting his or her emotions. The hole ties us back to the beginning where the dreamer’s repression of emotions have made her stuck, but as we see, the canoe calmly takes us to a realization that accepting these emotions can lead to a positive end, as depicted by the goldfishes that appear in the last scene.

Real conclusion: I clearly have too much free time.

Have you had any weird dreams lately?

Sincerely, Loewe

To Loewe:

