“You’re ok. Stand up!”

This week’s moment highlight occurred at the ECE center I work at on weekends.

While I was sitting at the front desk, one little boy and his parents were sitting in the lobby eating a snack. The little boy had just become comfortable with walking on his own – he’s at that adorable stage where his little legs waddle around. So there he is, just waddling around and being a cutiepie, until he loses his balance and falls onto his stomach on the lobby floor. He stays still on the floor with his legs and arms spread out and lets out a cry as he looks up at his parents. His parents smile and wave to him from their table. They say to him, “Stand up! You can do it!”

He turns his head to look up at me at my desk, his expression is a mixture of confusion and sadness. It is an expression that says, “What the heck? I just fell. Didn’t anyone see me fall? IT HURT.”

I just smile at him and say, “You’re ok. You’re doing just fine.”

He lies there dramatically for a few more seconds before pulling himself up and toddling back to his parents to finish his snack.

These kinds of incidents are very common at the ECE center, where kids are working on mobility and development. I wanted to share this example because not every parent will react this way. For some parents, when they see his or her child fall, their eyes will bulge out in horror and they will jump out of their seats and rush over to them. This reaction is obviously understandable in situations where a child may get seriously hurt, but in minor cases, this reaction may actually scare the child.

When a child sees the parent freak out and fuss over them, they start to believe that they are not ok and that they are, in fact, very much in danger and should be afraid. Reassuring a child that they are fine after a fall and encouraging them to get back up by themselves builds confidence and knowledge that can help them develop.

When you fall down, rise up. When you fall again, rise up again. This is just a developmental process that makes a healthy baby become a successful man.
― Israelmore Ayivor

Sincerely, Loewe

P.S. We held our Halloween party last week where all the kids dressed up in costumes and I almost died from cuteness overload.

My co-worker and I in animal onesies for the party.
My co-worker and I in animal onesies for the party.
One thought on ““You’re ok. Stand up!”

  1. That’s a great parenting lesson. I don’t have kids but my mom told me that’s what she did with me as a child. It teaches independence for sure, and instills the lesson very early that it’s not how you fall, but how you get back up.

    Thanks for sharing!

To Loewe:

