Thoughts: Nagging

Today’s daily prompt: Irksome

When I’m having a bad day, it feels like every little thing can set me off, but one thing that I always find irksome – no matter if I am having a good day or a bad day – is when someone nags at me to do something that I’ve already planned it into my day.

For example, if I set my alarm for 7:00 am and my mother comes in and wakes me up at 6:58 am, my morning immediately becomes a bad morning, even though logically, two more minutes of sleep wouldn’t have made a big difference. Or, if someone nags at me to do the laundry when I was planning to do it later in the day, I no longer feel like doing it at all just to be spiteful.

It’s an exasperating feeling. I was going to do it! I already set time aside for it! Just leave me alone!

What I’ve been thinking lately though, is that I’m not the one who who has my days planned out. Using the laundry example, Sure, I planned to do the laundry on this day, but maybe my mother also needed to do other stuff and before she could do those, I had to finish the laundry. My schedule, although it may work for me, may not work so well with another person’s. If someone needs me to finish a task ahead of time and I am able to do so, then I should just do it.

That’s what I tell myself when I hear someone nagging and my immediate emotional response is to ignore it. I tell myself to just do it to avoid unnecessary arguments or even worse, delays onto everybody’s schedules.

But really though, don’t wake me up before my alarm.

Sincerely, Loewe

To Loewe:

