Thoughts: Disney Fairies, the Franchise

Today’s daily prompt: Mythical

Mermaids, unicorns, dragons, and werewolves – I liked reading about all of these mythical creatures when I was a kid. They were exciting, fantastical, an imaginary being in a world of magic and evil, a world that seemed to offer so much more beauty and adventure than my own.

My most favourite mythical creatures are fairies, and my adoration for them has been a very open realization since I watched Tinkerbell (2008), the first movie in the Disney Fairies franchise.

I’ve written about my love for the movies a few times in this blog already (here and here), but I’ve never written about the franchise itself.

The Disney Fairies franchise spans from movies to children books, and even to an interactive web game site where users could be fairies in Pixie Hollows. They also had a fashion boutique game app that I played for awhile (I’m 23, but it was still fun to make clothes for fairies with the help of caterpillars and spiders). I believe the web site and the app is no longer available, and the latest film was released back in the spring of 2015.

The shutting down of the Pixie Hollows site and the app, along with a hiatus release on films makes me wonder if Disney is considering to stop production on the Disney Fairies franchise, which is a thought that greatly saddens me.

Disney Fairies is my own childhood escape into a glittery mythical world where little people with wings prepare the rest of the world with the beauties of each season. Tinkerbell and her friends are my dream girl squad and it has taught me, and hopefully many little girls, about accepting oneself, believing in others, and all the little magical things each season has to offer.

Sincerely, Loewe

To Loewe:

