From the 2016 Me

2016girl
The evolution of Loewe in 2016.

2016 was a real “adult” year for me. Although I celebrate my successes every year, this year’s achievements just feel more grown up than before. Instead of celebrating skydiving or getting a new hobby, I’m celebrating milestones that are commonly affiliated with “getting your life together”.

My highlights of 2016 include the completion of my BBA (a five year journey), a backpacking trip to Europe (#FLEuro2016), working as a Marketing Coordinator for a wonderful credit union, and my latest good news to end off this year: a new job! In the new year, I will be working as a Marketing Assistant for a real estate company, specializing in graphic design and digital marketing.

All this is fun and exciting and different from last year or the year before and this is because I am probably entering a new chapter in my life.

When I reread my 2015 recap to write this post, I chuckled at my worries about change. Why did I even worry? 2016 was amazing and broadening! I got to travel to cities I only dreamed of going. I was able to take two big steps towards my career aspirations, making me even more passionate and sure of what I want to do with my life. It’s another lesson to myself that I should not fear change.

Change is something people say they like but don’t actually. It’s hard to change and it’s hard to accept change. People don’t want to change their behaviour. They want to continue to do what they’re doing, even if it’s not working. People don’t like the unknown, they cling to the familiar and what is comfortable.

I knew I had a disposition against change when I first transferred high schools back in 2010. It was a difficult experience for me, a girl who didn’t know how to adapt to a new place or make new friends. It’s been six years since then, and it’s still one of my biggest ongoing personal challenges, but time after time again, I am reminded that I should not be afraid of change. Many wonderful things have happened to me because of changes and I consider myself as someone who is slowly learning to be adaptable and flexible – a much needed characteristic for an uptight person such as myself.

My life seems to be coming together nicely, but as always, there is always something I want to improve on and as the 2016 Loewe, I want to remind myself that change is not scary or bad. It is, in fact, an opportunity to be a better and braver person, which is something I always strive towards. And even if a change results in a bad outcome, I should know by now that I am capable of getting through it and that I have people who will support me either way.

I mean really, what is there to be afraid of? I even do my own taxes.

Sincerely, Loewe

4 thoughts on “From the 2016 Me

  1. Never be afraid of change. :) That’s cool that you can do your own taxes! I’ve seen my dad file them with TurboTax so I kind of (?) understand.

To Loewe:

