2 Week Trial of Adulthood

1ff395ba3ca852bb933de06747fc6b40

My parents went on their first ever trip alone this month and because of this, I’ve been doing a lot of “adult” things. By “adult” things I mean stuff like cooking/buying groceries, doing the laundry – stuff you probably already do on a normal basis as a fully-functioning adult.

Reminder: I’m a big baby who doesn’t know how to take care of herself.

Is this box of strawberries considered expensive? When are avocados ripe? Where do I dispose of compost? What’s the difference between delicate wash vs. hand wash? How do I cook meat? Did I park correctly? Why does kale taste so bitter?

Those are just some of the questions that I actually asked out loud in the last week or so, and I’d like to give a big shout out to my childhood friend, Hyesun, for answering them without judging me.

I can do some adult stuff like taxes (ugh, ’tis the season again), managing my finances, work responsibilities, and general cleaning, but my two big weaknesses are cooking and driving.

I’m terrible at both and I’ve avoided them for years by eating out and getting rides (thank you, everybody!), but last Monday, I drove to the grocery store and bought my own groceries for the first time ever.

-gives myself a “Good Job” sticker-

So did I live well? Well, on average, I ate three proper meals a day. I had clean clothes in my closet. I got to work on time. My house didn’t burn down and I’m not dead so things are moving along.

But am I inspired to live on my own? I’d argue no, not really. I still much prefer living with my parents, but a part of me does want to take over some chores that my mother has traditionally done for me. I have a conscience too – a 23-year-old should be doing her own laundry (“But it saves more time/water/electricity to wash everyone’s together!” – Mama Chan). Even something like making my own lunches could be a little personal project to improve my cooking skills over time. And then maybe the next time my parents go on a trip, I won’t panic.

I’d  like to think that this trip was the turning point to some positive changes in my family. Although my friends’ parents have embarked on many vacations by themselves in the last few years, it’s the first time my parents have ever gone without my sister and I. Hopefully now that they have returned, my sister and I can lessen the amount of chores my mother has to do.

We just need to remember to water the plants!

Sincerely, Loewe

To Loewe:

