The Yin to my Yang

Today’s prompt: Oil, Meet Water

Of the people who are close to you, who is the person most unlike you? What makes it possible for you to get along?

One of my closest friends gets called a unicorn. She doesn’t like taking photos, going on social media, and she is very hard to get in touch with because she is the type of person to actually leave home without taking her phone with her. I, on the other hand, take many photos and use many social media platforms. As for my phone, it is almost an extension of my body.

She has been my oldest friend and our friendship has surpassed eleven years so far. There are a lot of reasons why we get along, but if I were to pinpoint 3 reasons I would say this:

3. We are childhood friends

I think this is a legitimate reason. Children see the world and people differently. Even if we do see, we don’t understand why or why not. Things like appearances, social class, language barriers, and everything else does not matter. If someone shares a cookie with you, they are probably a nice person and you should do something nice back. Meeting as children, we saw each other purely and honestly, and I think it is always a wonderful foundation for any relationship.

Our friendship has extended well beyond our childhood years, which also adds to this reason being why I think we get along. The longer you are friends with someone, the more you learn about them- what makes them angry, sad, happy, and everything in-between. We learn to accommodate each other, how to effectively communicate to each other, and how to help each other grow.

2. We see our differences as things we can learn from each other

Being different, it is not always easy to get along because our views may clash or our routines may conflict. It’s also easy to become jealous of each other or feel insecure because our differences shine light on our flaws or things we believe we lack. I think a big part in overcoming this is to understand and accept your flaws, and to take that difference as something that you could incorporate a little into your own life.

From her, I learn how to get away from social media or my phone. I learn how to be spontaneous. I learn how to share an experience with someone without posting anything anywhere or taking a single photo. I see her lifestyle as one that is very fulfilling and it is something I am currently working on bringing more of in my own.

1. We try

I think this is the most important reason why we get along. We try to get along. We want to get along.

We don’t want to lose each other, even at times when we are very mad at each other. We do not want to give up on the other because we want to keep each other in our lives.

You can go through life and make new friends every year – every month practically – but there was never any substitute for those friendships of childhood that survive into adult years. Those are the ones in which we are bound to one another with hoops of steel.
― Alexander McCall Smith, The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency


 

NaBloPoMo

No new chapter today because it was Remembrance Day and I watched Big Hero 6 (BEST movie at the moment, will definitely post a review about it another day), but there will be one tomorrow for sure!

eb66a206fcba478341eac3efd4d5ac5d Sincerely, Loewe

To Loewe: